

Minutes of last Councillors' Forum meeting

Councillors' Forum

Thursday, 26 January 2023

Hybrid Meeting - 18 Smith Square and Online

Attendance

An attendance list is attached as Appendix A

Item Decisions and actions

1 Welcome, Declarations of Interest

The Chairman welcomed Members to the Forum.

2 Ben Dyson, Department of Health and Social Care

The Chairman welcomed Ben Dyson, policy director at the Department of Health and Social Care (DHSC), currently responsible for leading the department's hospital discharge programme.

Members discussed the following topics:

- The role of local government as a key player in hospital discharge
- The provision of grants by DHSC and an ask for conditions of the grants to be shared to allow councils to forward plan
- Data sharing between social care and hospitals to allow collaboration
- Support and recognition of the role of the voluntary and community sector as well as unpaid carers
- A need to prepare for winter when patient numbers typically increase

3 Chairman's Update

The Chairman introduced his report updating on recent work of the LGA.

4 LGA Board Chair Reports

The Chairman invited the following Chairs to update on the work of their Boards:

- City Regions Board Mayor Marvin Rees
- Environment, Economy, Housing and Transport Board Cllr David Renard
- People and Places Board Cllr Kevin Bentley



5 Digest of the last meeting held on 20 October 2022

The digest of the last meeting was agreed as a correct record.



Appendix A -Attendance

Position/Role	Councillor	Authority
Chairman Vice-Chairman Deputy-chairman	Cllr James Jamieson OBE Cllr Izzi Seccombe OBE Cllr Shaun Davies Cllr Joe Harris Cllr Marianne Overton MBE	Central Bedfordshire Council Warwickshire County Council Telford and Wrekin Council Cotswold District Council North Kesteven District Council
Members	Clir John Fuller OBE Clir Robert Alden Clir David Fothergill Clir David Renard Clir Kevin Bentley Clir Peter Golds CBE Clir Michael Wilcox Clir Tim Oliver Clir Sam Chapman-Allen Clir Linda Taylor Clir Rory Love OBE Clir Colin Noble Clir Penny Channer Clir Lucy Stephenson Clir Ash Ashbee Clir Paul Osborn Clir Michael Payne Clir Anntoinette Bramble Clir Susan Hinchcliffe Clir Shabir Pandor Clir Brigid Jones Clir Nesil Caliskan Clir Nesil Caliskan Clir Nesil Caliskan Clir Sharon Thompson Clir Leigh Redman Clir Vince Maple Clir Tudor Evans OBE Clir Tidor Evans OBE Clir Tracey Dixon Clir Bridget Smith Clir Vikki Slade	South Norfolk District Council Birmingham City Council Somerset County Council Swindon Borough Council Essex County Council Tower Hamlets Council Lichfield District Council Breckland District Council Cornwall Council Kent County Council Maldon District Council Maldon District Council Rutland County Council Harrow London Borough Gedling Borough Council Bradford Metropolitan District Council Chesher West and Chester Council Bristol City Council Milton Keynes Council Kirklees Metropolitan Borough Council Bristol City Council Bristol City Council Milton Keynes Council Enfield Council Somerset County Borough Council Birmingham City Council Birmingham City Council South Tyneside Council South Tyneside Council South Cambridgeshire District Council Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Council Portsmouth City Council Suffolk County Borough Council Birmingham City Council South Cambridgeshire District Council South Cambridgeshire District Council Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Council Portsmouth City Council
Apologies	Cllr Richard Wenham	Central Bedfordshire Council



Cllr Andrew Proctor Cllr Keith Glazier Cllr Kelham Cooke Cllr Naushabah Khan Cllr Bev Craig Cllr Georgina Hill Norfolk County Council East Sussex County Council South Kesteven District Council Medway Council Manchester City Council Northumberland Council